Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


No Comments

UE.28: Matt Caine

UE.28: Matt Caine
Alex Rennie

Canada’s electronic music scene is a hot topic right now, and Calgary-based producer Matt Caine is one of the freshest producers to rise through its ranks. Over the past year he’s been on a bit of a break-out flex, stacking up a first class back-catalogue of club-ready cuts.

Not afraid to shake things up, Matt’s acid-tinged Crime Boss EP, which dropped last October on his hometown imprint Substation Recordings, won recognition from the likes of Pezzner, Atnarko and Isis Graham. Similarly, his more recent Elevate EP, released via Omid 16B’s Alola Records, featured an intoxicating melange of garage influenced percussion and organ-esque notes; a proper low key joint.

Building on what’s been a solid start, Matt’s latest offering, The Break Up, is due to land June 16th. Loaded with five-tracks of affecting deep house, the EP marks his debut on Vancouver’s eminent Nordic Trax and it’s fair to say that he’s found his element.

Opener ‘The Break Up’ is a melancholic number that winds broodingly between vivid keys and a rolling bassline, while ‘We Are Human’ sticks to the pensive tip, combining dramatic strings with powerful synths. ‘Music’ and ‘Remember Me’ are both geared for peak-time play, the spaced out melodies and beefed up basslines rendering them prime fist-pump material. ‘The Guardian’ rounds off the quintet with a blend of ethereal chords and a bouncey rhythm that leave your ears feeling contently aerated. Simplicity is at the heart of the groove and it’s an adept finale.

Before you’re able to get your mitts on the goods, tune into the pulsating mix Matt’s laid out for us, a 60 minute expedition through deep and spacious house.

1. Nibc- Love Lesson (Ian Pooley Remix) – Trunkfunk
2. Jimpster – Headspin – Freerange
3. Matt Caine – Music – Nordic Trax
4. DJ Pierre, Supernova – The Beat ( Dario D’Attis Remix ) – Laspus
5.Spirit Catcher – Superimposed – Gruuv
6. Alex Niggemann – Twisted – Voltaire Music
7. Stephan Bodzin – Sungam – Systematic
8. Gavin Boyce – Haboo – Nordic Trax
9. Nacho Marco – Elevator (OOFT! Remix) – Modern Electrics
10. Alex Niggemann – Street Therapy – Poker Flat
11. Vincenzo ,Talking Props – Seduction ( Jimpster Remix ) – Push Communications
12. Massimiliano Troiani, Re-Tide – Glorious (Re-Tide Dirty Re-Edit) – Cut Rec Promos
13. Matt Caine – The Guardian – Nordic Trax
14. Tom Tom Club – Love To Love You Baby ( Tom Novy & Pufo Remix ) – Caus-N-ff-ct Records.

The Break Up is out now on Nordic Trax.